Forsberg wins Round 5

Round 5: Throwdown at Evergreen Speedway Results; Chris Forsberg Takes the Victory 

224Long Beach, Calif. – July 21, 2013 – Formula DRIFT presented by GoPro returned to the Pacific Northwest to a sold out crowd. Chris Forsberg in the NOS Energy Drink / Hankook Tire Nissan 370Z takes the victory and the championship points lead.

The fans came out in droves for Round 5: Throwdown at Evergreen Speedway and for the second year in a row the event was held in front of a sell-out crowd.

“Each year we look forward to the action and excitement at Evergreen Speedway and this year did not disappoint. The championship chase is heating up with only two events left in the season,” stated Jim Liaw, president and co-founder of Formula DRIFT. “The chase is as close as it has ever been and we look forward to returning to Texas for the next round of competition and then the Finals in Irwindale.”

Heading into the event, returning champion Daigo Saito had a commanding points lead, but with an early exit in the Top 32, an opening for the other drivers became present. In the consolation round, Aurimas “Odi” Bakchis in the Nexen Tire Nissan 240SX battled Fredric Aasbo in the Hankook Tire / Scion Racing tC. Wheel and tire problems helped give Aasbo the win and the third place finish. The final battle pitted Michael Essa in the GSR Autosport / Yokohama BMW M3 against Chris Forsberg. After a close battle, Forsberg edged out Essa to take the victory and the lead in the 2013 Pro Championship points standings. Essa also moves into second place overall.

“Hats off to my crew for giving me a perfect running car this weekend as they were hustling really hard since Thursday’s practice to get the car dialed in for today,” said Chris Forsberg, winner of Round 5: Throwdown. “It is a testament from last year’s season to this year just how much you can improve with a hard working crew and the support of great sponsors. I’m excited for the win and the lead and can’t wait for the next event.”

With only 2 events remaining the championship is up for grabs with less than 35 points separating the top five drivers from the title. Formula DRIFT continues to Round 6: Showdown at Texas Motor Speedway in Dallas Fort Worth, Texas on September 13-14, 2013.

For more information visit:

Formula DRIFT Professional Championship Presented by GoPro 2013 Standings After Five Rounds
1. Forsberg, Chris NOS Energy Drink / Hankook Nissan 370Z 388 Points
2. Essa, Michael GSR Autosport / Yokohama BMW M3 386.50 Points
3. Saito, Daigo Achilles Tire / Bridges Racing Lexus SC430 385.25 Points
4. Gittin Jr., Vaughn Monster Energy / Nitto Tire Ford Mustang RTR 367 Points
5. Aasbo, Fredric Hankook Tire Scion Racing tC 354.50 Points
6. Pawlak, Justin Falken Tire Ford Mustang 345.50 Points
7. McNamara, Darren Falken Tire Nissan S14 332.50 Points
8. Bakchis, Aurimas Nexen Tire Nissan S14 294 Points
9. Field, Matt CX Racing / Blacktrax Nissan 240SX 261 Points
10. Nishida, Robbie Bridges Racing / Achilles Tire Lexus SC300 253 Points
11. Yoshihara, Daijiro Discount Tire / Falken Tire Nissan S13 244.25 Points
12. Moen, Kenneth Lutz Performance / Nexen Tire Nissan 240SX 234.50 Points
13. Grunewald, Conrad Hankook Tire / Megan Racing Chevrolet Camaro SS 230.50 Points
14. Tuerck, Ryan Team Retaks / Maxxis Scion Racing FR-S 229.50 Points
15. DeNofa, Chelsea BC Racing BMW 3 Series 210.50 Points
16. Powers, Matt Fatlace / Nitto Tire Nissan 240SX 201.50 Points
Round 5: Throwdown Event Results
1. Forsberg, Chris NOS Energy Drink / Hankook Nissan 370Z First Place
2. Essa, Michael GSR Autosport / Yokohama BMW M3 Second Place
3. Aasbo, Fredric Hankook Tire Scion Racing tC Third Place
Manufacturers Championship Standings After Five Rounds
1. Ford 712.50 Points
2. Nissan 683.50 Points
3. Lexus 668.25 Points
4. Scion 645.50 Points
5. BMW 596.50 Points
Tire Championship Standings After Five Rounds
1. Falken 776 Points
2. Hankook 742.50 Points
3. Achilles 671.25 Points
4. Nitto 645 Points
5. Yokohama 522.50 Points
This entry was posted in FD USA, USA Drivers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>